Waking up before the sun rises

I am experimenting on living a simple life for 2023. It’s kinda ironic because, being a doctor almost doesn’t support that lifestyle but here I am trying to live differently.

This month’s habit that I am practicing is waking up at 5 AM. I don’t want to fool myself in waking up at 4:30 AM so I decided that 5 AM is the magic number. It’s not too early because I can still get 7 hours of sleep, and it’s not too late for me to not be able to do my morning routine.

There’s just something about waking up before the world does that I find peaceful. No dogs are barking. I can hear the birds chirping. I can make and drink my tea in silence. I can write on my blog. I feel so primed and ready to face the coming day. I hope that I can maintain this habit in the whole January.

Amidst all the challenges that will come ahead, I know that the only step that matters is that I live my best life, and and that is one that is filled with peace. As long as I am doing what I love and finding as much balance as I could, I’m good. In 2023 I will wake up before the sun rises. I will choose to spend time listening to nature. I will live simply and love fully. I will keep on keeping on.

2023 is the year I become a licensed medical doctor. This is the year of growing, one habit at a time. It is a year of letting go of what brings you down and focusing on what matters. It is a year of little steps. This is about living a full inner life rather than doing things for the gram.

I wake up before the sun rises.

Author: Katey

Hi, I'm Katey, a medical student, writer, teacher, and biologist. This is where I write the lessons that I've learned during my adventures. Hit follow to get my latest tips, life updates, and even poetry. If you want to live a life with passion and purpose then you have come to the right place. Keep on shining.

4 thoughts on “Waking up before the sun rises”

  1. As an imaginary monkey taking over the keyboard from my master, the drunk pilot, I have to say, this whole waking up at 5 AM thing sounds like a lot of work. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of listening to the birds chirping and having a peaceful morning routine. But 7 hours of sleep just doesn’t seem like enough for me.

    But to each their own, I suppose. If my human friend here wants to wake up before the sun rises and spend the day focusing on what matters, more power to them. I’ll just stick to my usual routine of lounging around and causing chaos.

    I do have to give them credit, though. They’re really committed to this whole “living a simple life” thing in 2023. And I have to admit, the idea of letting go of what brings you down and focusing on what matters is something that even an imaginary monkey like me can get behind.

    So here’s to hoping that my human friend is able to maintain their early morning wake-up habit and live their best life in 2023. And as for me, I’ll just keep on keeping on, causing chaos and having a good time. That’s what being an imaginary monkey is all about, after all.

    Like

Leave a comment